تاريخ القرية على طريق كازينو

الرحلة والوجهة 

لسنوات ، كان مجتمع Casino Road يطلب شيئًا واحدًا: مساحة مجتمعية آمنة ومشتركة حيث يمكن للناس التجمع وبناء المجتمع والوصول إلى الخدمات والموارد الأساسية لدعم العائلات القوية. استجابة لهذه الحاجة ، عمل Connect Casino Road مع شركاء لإعادة تصميم مجمع معروف باسم قرية الأطفال إلى مساحة مجتمعية مقصودة.

اقرأ أدناه لمتابعة الرحلة.

1996-2017 

دار المدرسة الحمراء الصغيرة 

قبل عقود من بدء Connect Casino Road وبدء العمل في القرية ، كانت هذه المساحة مكانًا موثوقًا للتجمع لمجتمع Casino Road. يمتلك ويديرها Little Red School House (الآن ChildStrive) ، ما يعرف الآن باسم Village on Casino Road له تاريخ طويل في استضافة المنظمات المجتمعية التي تركز على خدمة العائلات والأطفال الصغار. لا تزال العديد من هذه المنظمات نفسها موجودة في القرية اليوم ، وقد تمت إضافة العديد منها! حتى يومنا هذا ، ما زلنا هنا نشير بمحبة إلى هذه المساحة باسم "ليتل ريد". شخصيا ، نأمل أن لا يتغير!

ربيع 2018

تصميم المجتمع مع مركز الرمان

يتمتع مركز الرمان ومقره سياتل بخبرة تزيد عن 30 عامًا في العمل جنبًا إلى جنب مع المجتمعات لتصميم أماكن التجمعات العامة. بعد التعرف عليهم ، علمنا أنهم مثاليون لهذا المشروع. لذلك في أبريل 2018 ، عقدنا اجتماعًا مجتمعيًا لسكان Casino Road لإعلامنا بما يريدون من مركز مجتمع في المستقبل. سألناهم عن الشكل الذي سيبدو عليه "مركز المجتمع" وشكله وماذا سيفعل الناس هناك. شارك أكثر من 125 شخصًا بآرائهم ، وتوصلوا إلى 50 فكرة. 

بعد ثلاثة أيام ، التقى المصممون من مركز الرمان والمهندسين المعماريين لدينا في ورشتي عمل للتصميم على مدار اليوم حيث تم تلخيص الأفكار الخمسين التي تم جمعها في اجتماع المجتمع في الموضوعات والقيم ثم تفسيرها في تصميم مفاهيمي. تضمنت بعض الموضوعات والأنشطة الشائعة التي ظهرت على السطح ما يلي:

  • مركز للتمكين (التعليم ، التدريب ، بناء القدرات ، إلخ)  

  • محور اجتماعي  (مساحة للتسكع ، وشرب القهوة مع صديق ، والتواصل الاجتماعي ، وما إلى ذلك)

  • محور الموارد  (الملاحون المجتمعيون ، ومختبر الكمبيوتر ، ودعم الإسكان ، وما إلى ذلك)

  • أ  مركز ثقافي  (رقص ، فن ، موسيقى ، احتفالات ثقافية)

صيف 2018 - ربيع 2019

تحويل المفهوم إلى خطط

بعد تلقي "الضوء الأخضر" من المجتمع للمضي قدمًا في خططنا ، دخلنا في المرحلة الطويلة والشاقة من أعمال التصميم ، والعثور على مقاولين ، وتقدير الأسعار ، وجمع الأموال. في مارس من عام 2019 ، أنهى المهندسون المعماريون عملية التخطيط وقدموا وثائق التصميم إلى المدينة للحصول على الموافقة. بقينا متفائلين طوال العملية وتمت الموافقة! 

كانون الثاني (يناير) 2019

بدأت CCR تأجير مركز مجتمعي جديد

على الرغم من أننا نعلم أن قرية الأطفال لم تفعل ذلك بعد  نظرة  مثل المركز المجتمعي الذي كنا نحلم به جميعًا ، بحلول يناير 2019 ، بدأ استخدامه كمركز مجتمعي. من أجل تشجيع المزيد من هذا الاستخدام ، بدأت مؤسسة المجتمع في مقاطعة سنوهوميش بتأجير مبنى كامل من ChildStrive ، الذي يمتلك حاليًا المرفق ويعمل عن كثب مع CCR لتحويله إلى مركز مجتمعي. منذ ذلك الحين ، شهدنا زيادة استخدام المجتمع للمساحة بشكل كبير. لأول مرة ، تقيم العائلات حفلات أعياد الميلاد وحفلات استقبال المولود الجديد هنا في المركز. كانت هذه خطوة مهمة نحو جعل القرية حقيقة واقعة

مارس - أغسطس  2019

التقدم في جمع التبرعات

في مارس من عام 2019 ، حصل Connect Casino Road على منحة رأسمالية قدرها 200000 دولار من مبادرة التأثير الاجتماعي من Premera. جعلت هذه الجائزة CCR أقرب بكثير من هدفنا التقريبي لجمع التبرعات 800،000 دولار. في أغسطس ، تلقينا منحة رأسمالية قدرها 500000 دولار من مؤسسة بيل وميليندا جيتس. وصلنا إلى هدف جمع التبرعات في ديسمبر 2020 /. 

أغسطس 2019 - مارس 2020

كونستكشن

تم البناء في القرية على مرحلتين. بدأت المرحلة الأولى في أغسطس ، وبدأت المرحلة الثانية في نوفمبر. تم الانتهاء من البناء في مارس 2020 ، قبل أيام فقط من بدء جائحة COVID-19.

ألم تتمكّن من الانضمام إلينا في عملية الرمان؟ تحقق من العملية أدناه!

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom

The History of the Village on Casino Road

The Journey and the Destination 

For years, the Casino Road community had been asking for one thing: a safe, shared community space where people can gather, build community, and access essential services and resources to support strong families. In response to that need, Connect Casino Road worked with partners to remodel a complex known as Children's Village into intentional community space.

Read below to follow the journey.

1996-2017 

The Little Red School House 

Decades before Connect Casino Road began and started working on the Village, this space was a trusted gathering space for the Casino Road community. Owned and operated by the Little Red School House (now ChildStrive), what is now the Village on Casino Road has a long history of hosting community-based organizations focused on serving families and young children. Many of those same organizations are still present at the Village today, and many more have been added! To this day, we still here folks lovingly referring to this space as "Little Red." Personally, we hope that never changes!

Spring 2018

Community Design with the Pomegranate Center

The Seattle-based Pomegranate Center has over 30 years' experience working alongside communities to design public gathering spaces. After getting to know them, we knew they were perfect for this project. So in April, 2018 we pulled together a community meeting for Casino Road residents to let us know what they wanted out of a future Community Hub. We asked them what a Community Hub would look like, feel like, and what people would do there. Over 125 people shared their feedback, generating 50 ideas. 

Three days later, designers from the Pomegranate Center and our architects met for two all-day design workshops in which those 50 ideas collected at the community meeting were boiled down to themes and values and then interpreted into a conceptual design. Some common themes and activities that surfaced included:

  • A hub for empowerment (education, training, capacity building, etc.) 

  • A social hub (space to hang out, drink coffee with a friend, socialize, etc.)

  • A resource hub (community navigators, computer lab, housing support, etc.)

  • cultural hub (dance, art, music, cultural celebrations)

Summer 2018 - Spring 2019

Turning a Concept into Plans

After receiving the "green light" from the community to move ahead with our plans, we entered in to the long and arduous phase of design work, finding contractors, price estimating, and fundraising. In March of 2019, the architects finished the planning process and submitted the design documents to the City for permitting approval. We stayed hopeful throughout the process and were approved! 

January 2019

CCR Started Lease of New Community Center

Even though we knew Children's Village didn't yet look like the community center we've all been dreaming about, come January 2019 it was starting to be used like a community center. In order to encourage more of that use, the Community Foundation of Snohomish County began leasing an entire building from ChildStrive, who currently owns the facility and has been working very closely with CCR to turn it in to a community center. Since then, we've seen community use of the space increase dramatically. For the first time, families are holding birthday parties and baby showers here at the center. This was an important step towards making the Village a reality

March - August  2019

Fundraising Progress

In March of 2019, Connect Casino Road was awarded a $200,000 capital grant from Premera's Social Impact initiative. This award brought CCR much closer to our approximate $800,000 fundraising goal. In August, we received a $500,000 capital grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. We reached out fundraising goal in December 2020/. 

August 2019-March 2020

Constuction

Construction on the Village occurred in 2 phases. The first phase began in August, and the second phase began in November. Construction was completed in March 2020, just days before the start of the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Weren't able to join us for the Pomegranate Process? Check out the process below!

To play, press and hold the enter key. To stop, release the enter key.

press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom
press to zoom